the punks in the bottom of the basket

Three or four Christmases ago my mother gave me a bag of vintage kimono remnants and a big black garbage bag of brown alpaca wool. The kimono remnants were small and varied in their textures, patterns and colours. Each piece was beautifully tucked, folded, lined, basted and  rich with evidence of a past. Inspired by a Mirka Mora exhibition and a lifelong fondness of dolls, I decided to make a little stuffed creature of my own. Since then I have slowly been filling my home with all manner of crazy characters. I have given many away…priestesses, entwined lovers, tiny travellers, mumas with babies, nymphs, mermaids and little companions. This year I will call myself an artist.
What do I do? I’m an artist.

 

3 thoughts on “the punks in the bottom of the basket

Leave a Reply

