Bella

Bella 

   This is Bella, a special birthday present for my little girl. We ended up in hospital for a 4 day sojourn after her appendics ruptured. Thankfully, we were discharged on the morning of her 5th birthday, detached from the drip and able to have a birthday cuddle with both arms free.

   I started making Bella during our first night in hospital as I watched a sleepy little body recovering. I finished the final embellishments through the earliest hours of  of her birthday.

   Each of my dolls carry with them part of my story, like a journal, an essence of what has passed. Each little character evokes memories of conversations, people and places that were present as I stitched. Bella will be a sweet reminder of our hospital birthday adventure.

It is so lovely to be home, let’s be thankful for our health.

IMG_7872IMG_7845

IMG_7839

Leave a Reply

